update date : 2022-10-12

Established in 1991 as the very first Department of Life Science in Taiwan, the Department of Life Science allows students to explore various areas of life science in an integrated yet diverse program built upon a solid foundation of chemistry, physics, mathematics and biology. In 2022, the College of Life Science is reorganized and now comprised of the Department of Life Science, the Department of Medical Science, the Interdisciplinary Program of Life Science, the School of Medicine and five Institutes, the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, the Institute of Bioinformatics and Structural Biology, the Institute of Molecular Medicine, the Institute of Biotechnology, and Institute of Systems Neuroscience. The Department of Life Science, Medical Science and Interdisciplinary Program offer undergraduate Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) programs in Biology and Medical Science, the School of Medicine offers Bachelor of Medicine whereas the five Institutes offer graduate programs in a variety of research areas.

Five educational goals of the College of Life Science (ERIGS): 
1. Education: Excellence in education and learning in the fields of life science 
2. Research: Innovative research and research training at the highest international level in the fields of life science 
3. Internal Mobilization: Supporting the development of students and colleagues   
4. Globalization: Widening global worldview and providing international environment for the studies of life science 
5. Social Responsibility: Model for sharing common wealth from life science research                            
    We strive to train our young life scientists as prophetic leaders of future generations with a passion for science, and compassion for  life and a desire to transform the world.   

Chronology1973 Institute of Molecular Biology (IMB) established
1973 Institute of Molecular Biology (IMB) established
1974 Masters program for IMB established 
1984 Ph.D. program for IMB established
1985 Re-organized as Institute of Life Science
1987 Life Science Building I completed
1991 Institute of Biomedicine and Department of Life Science established
1992 College of Life Science established
1995 All institutes merged into Department of Life Science
1997 Institute of Biotechnology established
1998 Institute of Radiation Biology merged with the College
2002 Reorganized into four institutes and Department of Life Science
2004 Brain Research Center established
2008 Interdisciplinary Program of Life Science and Institute of Systems Neuroscience established
2010 Department of Medical Science established
2013 Interdisciplinary Neuroscience Ph.D. Degree Program established
2016 Ph.D. Program in Bioindustrial Technology established
2022 School of Medicine established
2022 Reorganized into five institutes, three departments and one interdisciplinary program